PHPee.com PHP development forum
no counter displays

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    phpee.com Forum Index -> PPhlogger Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andy



Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:25 pm    Post subject: no counter displays Reply with quote
It logs the visit but doesn't display anything on the site.

any ideas?

I have the html and .js file for a test user at www.mrfind.com
username: test5
password: rLG71aFd

thanks
Andy Mr. Green
_________________
***********************
www.TopCounters.com
***********************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 748
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Firstly, read the documentation:

http://pphlogger.phpee.com/doc.html

Everything to help you fix this is available there. Please utilise it.

Open up pphlogger.js and look for the part that says:
Code:

if(showme==null) var showme='n';


Change the n to y

Simple really...

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andy



Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks I got it running if I upload the pphlogger.js
but I'm loading that file off my server.






I guessed the %id% variable name to get the number right

pphlogger.js.php?id=%id%

Obviously TopCounters is just graphic counters the stats are a bonus.

So I can do it 2 ways :
modify the js template so everyone gets the correct defaults of
visible and image.

or just have phplogger.js on my server, the same file for everyone.
I'd like to do that if possible with something like this

src="http://www.topcounters.com/pphlogger.js?id=%username%"


Could that work do you think? Getting the username from the main HTML
file instead of phplogger.js.

thanks
Andy
_________________
***********************
www.TopCounters.com
***********************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andy



Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
hey who ran setup on my site Rolling Eyes

get out of there!

Cool
_________________
***********************
www.TopCounters.com
***********************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 748
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Take a look at using pphlogger.js.php from your site.
It's the same as using pphlogger.js externally.

You might want to password protect your admin side of the script. Anyone who knows how pphlogger works would be able to get access if you haven't passworded it.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andy



Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've got it working with a local pphlogger.js, but I wanted to
use this techinique that you posted before




what file is the template code for pphlogger.js in so I can change
the defaults to visible and image.

also, will you have a skins for the counters in version 3, I might be
better waiting for next version if it does that.

Andy Wink
_________________
***********************
www.TopCounters.com
***********************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 748
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
The pphlogger.js should be under the /include/ directory.

I have no idea as regards to version 3, i'm not the developer. I'm mearly the forum moderator Smile

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andy



Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks don't know how I missed it, I was wondering why
pphlogger.js.php was READING pphlogger.js when it should
be writing it Confused

ok i've got default images and no file upload going at topcounters
now, but its still under par for a counter service.

I think it will work good if I can skin the counter and a few other mods,
is anyone else using pphlogger for a counter service VS a stats service?

anyway thanks I'll have to put in the time to go through the script,
any suggestions for skins and the like I open to ideas.

Andy Cool
_________________
***********************
www.TopCounters.com
***********************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 748
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Regarding skinning, you could add a new CSS style..
Not exactly skinning it, but at least you can customise the colours a bit Smile

I use mine for a counter service as regards to a stats service. Although i'm just living with the style that's included.
Version 3, as far as i'm aware, is going to be OO based. This should, in theory, allow for easier skining abilities.

The pphlogger.js.php file does read and write the file down.. It writes it down with the correct settings for the users website.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Post new topic   Reply to topic    phpee.com Forum Index -> PPhlogger Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.8
Theme design based on Team 101 Designs, modified by Philip Iezzi