PHPee.com PHP development forum
Give password to user at registration

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    phpee.com Forum Index -> PPhlogger Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gdastyle



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:34 pm    Post subject: Give password to user at registration Reply with quote
I have a litle problem with sending the users' password in email becaouse of my host provider. To send email I would have to put an ID number to my email to the Additional Header. Where can I find this in the plain mail module.
But my main question is: How can I tell the generated password to the User , when creates a new account??? (If I could do this, I wouldn't have to worry about the ***ing email:)))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 820
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
You may need to trace code back through includes and the likes.
A lot of the code is contained in modules directory.

I'll see if i can have a look at the code tomorrow and dig something out for you Smile

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gdastyle



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 8:48 am    Post subject: THX Reply with quote
Thanks. I've read the half of the code last night:) I hope we get something useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 820
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, here goes. This is untested, but from what i can work out, it should work.

Open the file: /modules/usercreate.php
Go to the end of the file and find this line:
PHP:
Header("Location: $returnURL?usr=$N_username");

Change to:
PHP:
Header("Location: $returnURL?usr=$N_username&pw=$pw_plain");


Next, open this file: dspSignup.php
Find a line that contains something similar to:
PHP:
echo $strConfLogin; ?>

Change to:
PHP:
echo $strConfLogin;
echo
'Your password is: '.$_GET['pw'];
?>


Try that out for size and let me know if it works or not Smile

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gdastyle



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 11:40 am    Post subject: it's working. Reply with quote
Thanks, it's working!!!!!
Big respect from our crew!

Big up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 820
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
right...
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gdastyle



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:45 pm    Post subject: not counts? Reply with quote
I have another problem. I'm testing the logger system and I've got this:

account1: displays the counter at the webpage (index.html) and it counts, but when I log in to the pphlogger, it displays 0 visitors.

account2:counter doesen't show up, no text,no image. the bigger problem is, that when I log in it displays only 2 hit instead of 6.

both account's index.html is in a frameset (by a free webhost provider)
the url in the pphlogger.js and in the script is correct.

I don't know, whats the problem. Could you help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 820
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you're using frames, you need to enable the frames support in the pphlogger.js file.
Read the manual:

http://pphlogger.phpee.com/doc.html

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gdastyle



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
of course, I've read the doc. In the script I've already switched frames on, and text output (for counter) on. My problem is, that the system is NOT counting. Although, the "count me" is enabled, my visits arent counted. I've visited 10 times, and it counted only 2 hits. And during that time, another 8 person visited my site from 8 different ips and they weren't counted too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 820
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can you provide me a URL of the page/site that you are logging? PM me the details if you wish.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 820
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a distinct feeling this is to do with your use of a free webhost that uses framed forwarding.

For every page that the site serves, it will try and put it into a frame, which, by the looks of it, prevents logging of your site correctly.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Post new topic   Reply to topic    phpee.com Forum Index -> PPhlogger Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.8
Theme design based on Team 101 Designs, modified by Philip Iezzi