PHPee.com PHP development forum
CSS problem (inverted?)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    phpee.com Forum Index -> PPhlogger Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cera



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:27 pm    Post subject: CSS problem (inverted?) Reply with quote
Checked out the sticky that deals with zlib.output_compression = on problem.
Tried modifying get_css.php - didn't make a difference.
Scooped the latest get_css.php from CVS - didn't make a difference.

My host allows php.ini override per folder so I created php.ini with zlib.output_compression = off and uploaded to pphlogger directory - didn't make a difference.

I get what has been referred to as "inverted" display using both IE 6 and Firefox 0.9. If I refresh page it loads with assigned css displayed.

I have searched this board for solution with no luck - am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 930
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try emptying your temporary internet files and cache and see if that works.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cera



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
sdjl wrote:
Try emptying your temporary internet files and cache and see if that works.

David

Thanks for response David.
I found that suggestion in an old thread too and I tried it - didn't make a difference. Like I said I did a search of this board. Pretty sure that I've tried everything that has been suggested so far.

I've switched default css in setup. It happens when signed in as admin or as a user. Any other suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 930
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does PHP and apache output compressed pages?
It would be it's being compressed twice and the CSS is getting confused.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cera



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
PHP does if zlib.output_compression = on but I have dealt with that possibility.

I wasn't aware that apache was capable of outputing compressed pages on it's own. I would have to check with my host about apache configuration. Are we talking mod_gunzip or Apache::Compress or what? What do I need to ask my host?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 930
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think it will most likely be mod_gzip if anything.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cera



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, I think I stopped mod_gzip from compressing .css files with the inclusion of .htaccess with
mod_gzip_item_exclude file "\.css$"

Damn - that didn't fix it either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 930
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try a fresh upload of the scripts Smile

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cera



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fresh upload of all files (except config.inc.php) - no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 930
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Who knows then. You're on your own i'm afraid.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cera



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK - now I'm thinking that I will use an earlier version of PPhlogger. Had one installed about a year ago that I had no problems with. Don't remember which version. Which would be the most recent version that won't give me this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdjl
Moderator


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 930
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
As i said before, i can no longer help you.
My limit is stretched to as far as my knowledge of this software goes.
My setup works fine "out of the box" and i haven't come across any other setup that has the problem you have encountered.

David
_________________
-----
Free Logger Accounts | PPHlogger Manual | PM Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Post new topic   Reply to topic    phpee.com Forum Index -> PPhlogger Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.11
Theme design based on Team 101 Designs, modified by Philip Iezzi